#IciasList – Brazilian Blowdry: Food for your tresses

Just want to share my new do to you guys. I wasn’t blessed with smooth and manageable hair so naturally I’ve tried it all, from hot oil to severe hair straightening treatments. Of course, these are either super short termed or can drastically damage our tresses. Well I’ve tried this treatment called Keratherapy/Keratin/Brazilian Blowout/Permanent Blowdry — different names but it’s all the same.

As you can see my hair was a disaster. It’s so thick, curly and most of all, FRIZZY (I’m so not used to posting selfies online meh.):

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset
Frizzy Dizzy

Had my treatment at David’s Salon for a very low price of P1300 (any length). I’ve seen other salons hike up the price up to P10,000. I believe it’s the same thing, they use the same product anyway (like keratherapy or icure). The treatment took about 2 hours, I suggest download a movie so you won’t get bored (I was watching Once Upon A Time lol).

So basically they first wash your hair, towel dry, then start spraying the formulation to your hair per section. Then they wrap your whole crowning glory with some plastic wrap for about 15-30 minutes. Then comes the intense blow drying and flat ironing action.

Then voila! Below is the result:

.

.

,

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

I only started becoming more conscious about my hair this year, so I never really noticed how damaged it was. So what’s the difference between a Rebonding/Straightening treatment we usually get? I read online that unlike other treatments this actually nourishes your tresses not damage it. It’s like feeding your hair some Vitamins to be strong and healthy.

It promises to keep your hair manageable for 4-12 weeks depending on how you take care of it. Numerous articles say you should use shampoos that are Sulfate Free. You can buy these at Healthy Options for as low as P300 so don’t buy from the Salon which costs at least P900 each. Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

*I’m no expert on hair treatments so this is all just my opinion and own experience. Take the treatment at your own risk*

36 Comments Add yours

  1. ayn santos says:

    hi I would like to ask how long did the effect last on you? were you able to maintain it? thanks

    1. iciaramirez says:

      Hi Ayn! The straight effect lasted for about a month. But then compared to before my hair is more manageable – just not sleek straight anymore 🙂

  2. harry says:

    how long did they do the treatment?i’m planning to go davids tom. 😄

    1. iciaramirez says:

      It took about 1 1/2 hr 🙂

  3. hello, have you tried Bangs Tony and Jackey keratin treatment? which one would you recommend? thanks icia ♥

    1. iciaramirez says:

      Hi Beverly! Haven’t tried Tony and Jackey but I see them quite active on coupon sites. So I’m not really sure! But it’s all the same naman since they use the same product haha

  4. Lina says:

    As in 1,300 lang ang binayaran mo? Wala ba silang ibang sinuggest or pinabayad sayo?

    1. iciaramirez says:

      Php 1300 lang talaga 🙂

  5. Rizza says:

    hi sis! i thought it would make your hair straight for atleast 3 months? kasi in other salons same din ng ginagamit, kaso why did it only last for a month sa iyo? 😦 im so confused na hehe

    1. iciaramirez says:

      Hi Rizza! MY hair was sleek straight for about a month lang, so the remaining 2 months it wasn’t ask straight as before pero manageable siya 🙂 Para bang, slowly nawawala yung straightness pero manageable parin 🙂

  6. Thanks for the info.. 🙂

  7. Tanya Alexis says:

    After a month, hindi po ba bumalik yung friz at waves? Thanks. 🙂

    1. iciaramirez says:

      Nope! Mine lasted for about 2 1/2 months. It’s not sleek straight pero nawala yung pagka dry and frizz niya. They suggest every 2 months to get the treatment 🙂

  8. Stephy Reyes says:

    Saang branch po ng David’s Salon?

    1. iciaramirez says:

      Hi Stephy, David’s Salon EGI Taft Branch. It’s the building right beside La Salle 🙂

  9. Janine says:

    Hi girl! Ask ko lang san branch ka ng davids salon nagpa-do? Bet ko din kasi gawin yan pero ewan ko kung papastraight ko kasi gusto ko un kulot ko. Sobrang frizzy nia lang talaga. Damage dahil sa hair color. Omg.

    1. iciaramirez says:

      Hi Janine, David’s Salon EGI Taft Branch. It’s the building right beside La Salle 🙂

  10. Patricia says:

    After the effect has gone, did your hair became drier? Did it damage your hair? Or it treated it made is softer? Or did it just went bagk to original form without damage or benefit?

    1. iciaramirez says:

      Hi Patricia, my hair became slightly less dry/frizzy after it wore off. It’s better 🙂

      1. Patricia says:

        Woah! Thanks. I am planning to try it too 😀 why is the price 1300 only? Is that the regular or you use a voucher?

      2. iciaramirez says:

        Regular price 🙂 I suggest you call since I had mine done last Nov 2014. Call the stylist: Manny Dela Cuadra 0926 885 9624 / 354 50 68

      3. Patricia says:

        Okay 🙂 thank you. Your blog really helped a lot.

      4. iciaramirez says:

        No problem 🙂

  11. andyboo8 says:

    Hi friend,

    If I decide to get this treatment, should I bleach-color my hair before or after?

    1. iciaramirez says:

      Color your hair before, as in right before you get the treatment. I read somewhere that the keratni treatment will help lock in the color even longer 🙂 But it’s best to always ask advice from your stylist beforehand! 🙂

  12. Katnip says:

    Hello,

    I got my treatment earlier today at David’s Robinsons Forum branch after reading your review. They have an ongoing promo for Keratherapy + full hair color (any length) for P2,999 only. I love the results! This is the type of hair that I want, not too straight but manageable. ☺

    P.S. My stylist told me that they have an ‘extreme’ version of this treatment that can last up to 3-5m months. You just need to add no more 1k to the current promo.

    1. iciaramirez says:

      Oh thank you! I recently had Xtenso Rebond from Hazel Luxury Salon. I thought my hair would be all brittle but it actually looks great. Just make sure you deeply condition your hair everyday 🙂

      1. Nix says:

        Hi there! I am trying to look for reviews on Hazel Luxury Salon and came across this post. How was their service? Okay ba ‘yung Xtenso Rebond in terms of longevity nung effects and quality of service? 🙂

        Thank you!:)

      2. iciaramirez says:

        Hi Nix! I actually had my Hair done at Hazel Luxury with xtenso rebond. I SAY GO FOR IT! I love my hair now, it’s straighter and manageable than ever. But take note that rebonding really damages hair. But so far (3 months later) my hair still feels okay.

        Tip: Make sure you go there REALLY EARLY, be the first one there. A lot of people avail of their vouchers so the line can be long. Plus the treatment itself will take a whole day. I was there at 11:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. and I was already first in line.

        Have fun!!!

  13. Cindy says:

    hi pwede rin po to kapag medyo wavy yung hair? ayoko na po kasi magparebond..

    1. iciaramirez says:

      Yes, wavy yung hair ko. After the first wash it won’t be sleek straight anymore but the change is noticeable 🙂

  14. Vangie says:

    Hi, tanong ko lanh, after the treatment ilang days bago mo siya pwde basain? Kasi diba sa rebond 3days after the treatment atska mo lang siya pwde basain. Thanks in advance 🙂

    1. iciaramirez says:

      Hi Vangie, same time din. 2-3 days 🙂

  15. Joy says:

    Hi ask ko lang ano brand ng shampoo and conditioner yung ginamit mo? Kasi medyo expensive pag sa salon bibili e. Thanks

    1. iciaramirez says:

      Hi Joy! I used the shampoo and conditioner from Healthy Options. Less than P500 for both na (big bottles). 🙂

Leave a Reply

